I'd Like to Think Balaji Watches Baseball

Ted Lasso, Balaji's bet, Trout vs Ohtani

Yoooo. We’ve got another week. Thinking we’re gonna get into some quantum next week… but for now:

One of the coolest at bats of all time

Imagine this:

9th inning of the World Baseball Classic, Shohei Ohtani pitching for Japan, Mike Trout hitting for the US, 1 run game, full count…

No, it wasn’t a dream. Though I still think winning the World Series is a bigger deal than the WBC (sorry Japan), this was one of the coolest matchups I’ve ever seen.

It’s worth the three minutes if you haven’t seen it yet.

With Ohtani throwing 100, Trout never looked very settled. The 3-2 slider to strike him out was disgusting though. Well deserved for the Japanese, their third WBC title.

Also with Opening Day coming this week, its time to come out of hibernation. Need to change my Calendly to “busy” from 7-10 pm for the next 8 months.

Bitcoin to… $1 Million ???

Yep, you read that right. Balaji made a bet that Bitcoin will hit $1 million in the next 90 days, and gave 40-1 odds on it. Balaji worked at Andreessen Horowitz and is also the former CTO of Coinbase. He’s not new to the Bitcoin, crypto, or investment space.

You won’t struggle to find podcasts or articles written by Balaji, and he also wrote the best selling book The Network State. The guy knows what he’s talking about, no doubt on that one. This bet however? Seems a little aggressive…

Purely my own speculation, I see it more as a political statement. The US Government is expected to launch its own digital currency (funny enough in about 90 days time), named the central bank digital currency (CBDC). After that, the thought is your stuck with a “devalued digital dollar”.

More of sharing what I’m seeing rather than expressing a strong opinion, this is going to be an interesting bet to follow. I’ve added ~a little~ Bitcoin to my collection, but am mostly just a bystander, seeing how this plays out. The one note to this, however, is that Balaji is very smart and makes his arguments in a very scientific way, backed with a lot of data, evidence, and with solid reasoning.

TLDR: Do I think Bitcoin is gonna hit a million in the next 90 days? I really hope not, as that implies a full meltdown of the US banking system, widespread hyperinflation, and chaos across the board. That being said, I’ve started buying Bitcoin (and storing it off exchanges), and I don’t think thats the craziest move.

Ted Lasso is back

In more.. light news. TED LASSO IS BACK. Maybe its the last season of it, but I think we’re all trying not to think about that.

If you haven’t watched Ted Lasso, I’d highly recommend it. Maybe you have to get an Apple TV subscription for a month, but 1. Its not that expensive and 2. Odds are you’ve bought some new Apple product recently anyways and can just get it for free.

I’ve been loving this season thus far and am extremely excited to see how it plays out over the next couple weeks.

Just a cool photo, but I thought I would share.

Ok yea, maybe its an NFT too, but come on! Its so cool.